Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Magical Max and Magical Mickey's Big Surprise won Book of the Year!

BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD 
from
CREATIVE CHILD MAGAZINE AWARDS PROGRAM
for

I'm very happy to announce that "Magical Max and Magical Mickey's Big Surprise," the fifth book in my Magical series, won Book of the Year from Creative Child Magazine's Award Program!  

Now all of my Magical books have won awards. Here's a synopsis of each book, in order:

Magical Matthew:  Matthew has a secret.  He fixes things magically.  Matthew secretly fixes things by magic for his family and friends.  Later he expands his good deeds. First in the Magical Series. Ages 5-8.

Magical Mea:  Magical Mea wants to test her magic ability. What can she do? What might happen to a little girl on the loose with magic? Second Magical book. Ages 5-8.

Magical Mea Goes to School:  Mea’s now in Second Grade. She wants more play time after school, but her big brother Matt wants her to practice using her magic secretly. Third Magical book. Ages 5-8.

Magical Max and Magical Mickey:  College bound Matt, and middle school Mea, are surprised when Mom announces she’s having twin boys. Everyone wonders will they be magical, too? Fourth Magical book. Ages 5-8.

Magical Max and Magical Mickey’s Big Surprise:  Twins Max and Mickey know they’ll soon lose their magic. They’re working hard on a surprise graduation gift before their magic runs out Fifth Magical Book. Ages 5-8.

Penelope Anne Cole
Tri-Valley Writers Conference 2017 Prose Award
San Mateo County Fair Short Story Award 2017
Award Winning Author of Magical Matthew, Magical Mea,
Magical Mea Goes to School, Magical Max and Magical Mickey, and
Magical Max and Magical Mickey’s Big Surprise
In and Out, All ‘Round About – Opposite Friends
What’s for Dinner? and ¿Q vamos a comer?:
For Halloween: Ten Little Tricksters and Diez pequeños bromistas
New:  My Grandma and Me Coloring Book
Coming Soon:  My Grandma’s Pink House
Web/Blogs:  http://www.penelopeannecole.com/
FREE Skype Author School Visits
 

Saturday, March 11, 2017

A Five Star Review for Magical Matthew

Another great 5-Star Review on Amazon
 
 
on August 26, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
 
I bought this book series for my 8 year old daughter. She was captivated by the illustrations and enjoyed following Matthew on his magical adventure. I image she would like some magical superpower of her own! I enjoyed the fact that Matthew chose to use his magic in a positive way, and I was delighted that Grandma Nonie guided Matthew to make his own decisions. My daughter’s favorite part of the book was the surprise ending with Matthew’s sister, and she knew there was more fun to come in the second book, Magical Mea.

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

A 5- Star Review of 
In and Out, All 'Round About - Opposite Friends

10/30/2016
Rating: 
5 Stars!

Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers’ Favorite

"In and Out, All 'Round About: Opposite Friends" is a children's picture book for grades K-3 written by Penelope Anne Cole and illustrated by Agy Wilson. They may not always agree and often seem to be going in totally different directions, but the girl and boy in this tale are the best of friends. These opposite friends are seen as they grow up together, from the early days of playing on jungle gyms and climbing trees, to running and playing on the city streets where they live. They seem to work in an easy and instinctively cooperative fashion, even when they disagree or have the inevitable arguments. One set of panels has them disconsolate over losing a soccer game and jubilant over a victory. Another has them camping out under a starry sky, and while one is reading and the other gazing at the stars, their contentment with each other's company shines brightly.

Penelope Anne Cole's picture book for children, grades K-3, "In and Out, All 'Round About: Opposite Friends," celebrates friendship and the joy it brings to those lucky enough to have a best friend. This story is a perfect primer for new readers. Cole chooses her word pairs carefully and doles them out sparingly, making sure each set makes the biggest impact on the reader. Her story is filled with movement and the easy give and take that characterizes a good friendship. We see her friends running down city streets, playing sports and board games, even dressing up as grownups, and you can tell they will stay friends for life, in spite of distance, difference or other barriers. Agy Wilson's illustrations fit the story line perfectly and add to the feeling of motion Cole’s words evoke throughout the text. Each panel is rich in detail, and anyone who's ever spent any time in San Francisco will no doubt delight in recognizing some familiar landmarks, city streets and intersections. "In and Out, All 'Round About: Opposite Friends" is most highly recommended.

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Here's a Great 5-Star Review on Amazon
on October 11, 2016
Penelope Anne Cole’s "Ten Little Tricksters" is an adorable rhyming and counting Halloween-themed picture book! Excellent use of rhythm and rhymes that match up uniquely with each group of little tricksters, from ten little ghosties to one little pumpkin. The illustrations by Kevin Collier are a bewitching seasonal treat—including “creaky” skeletons and “screechy” bats. Children will love counting down to Halloween with this delightful tale and parents will not be able to resist reading its catchy verses aloud!
 
*******
Tags:
Ten Little Tricksters, out trick or treating, on Halloween, by Penelope Anne Cole, spooky creatures, count down to ten, reverse counting, pumpkin, black cats, witches, skeletons, zombis, black bats, ogres, monsters, goblins, and ghosts.   

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

ANOTHER 5 - STAR REVIEW FOR
MAGICAL MAX AND MAGICAL MICKEY'S BIG SURPRISE
on September 19, 2016
Format: Paperback

I'm sorry this is probably the last book in the series. It's a good one. I won't give away the plot, but I LOVE the surprise the boys make for their friend's graduation gift.
*****  
I responded to Ms. Collins that I would continue the series if I get another good book idea!  Penelope Anne Cole
 
*******
Tags
children's books, Magical Max and Magical Mickey's Big Surprise, Max, Mickey, Mea, Matthew, Lily, Grandma Nonie, Mom, Dad, magic, helping, fixing, surprises, graduation, family, siblings, friends, friendship, caring, sharing.

Monday, August 29, 2016

AMAZON REVIEW - 5 STARS



on August 29, 2016
What a wonderful book by Penelope Anne Cole for teaching children to get along in spite of our differences. The two children in the book are different in gender, race, likes, looks, and feelings, but none of that matters. They put their differences aside and enjoy playing together. This is a great book for Kindergarten through early elementary school children. Teachers may want to read it to their classes during discussions of diversity. It’s also a great book for teaching opposites. The wonderful illustrations by Agy Wilson are colorful and beautifully enhance the book’s theme. I plan to read and discuss it with my 5 year old grandson before he heads off to Kindergarten next week. We need more books to encourage people to get along. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
 
*****
 
Deb Gardner Allard is the author of 
"Baby Poopsie Loves Ears." 
 
 www.debgardnerallard.com 
 

****
Tags:
Opposites, friends, multicultural, fussing, fighting, playing, running, learning, growing, kids, childrens, rhyming, San Francisco, Washington, D.C.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

FIVE STAR REVIEW ON AMAZON

on August 3, 2016
Penelope Anne Cole’s "In and Out, All ‘Round About – Opposite Friends" is a book with a beautiful message in rhythmic verse. It’s about a friendship between a boy and a girl of different races who share the various ups and downs of young life. Even when they end up moving away from each other, their friendship endures.

Opposites in general, and how they fit into the lives of these two kids, are featured in verse and repetitive patterns.

Agy Wilson’s illustrations are beautifully executed—they bring the moments these two friends share fully to life.

"In and Out, All ‘Round About – Opposite Friends" is an excellent choice for schools, libraries and homes.

Please note: I reviewed a free copy of the book in exchange for my honest opinion/review.
 
***
Regan Macaulay is the author of 
"Beverlee Beaz the Brown Burmese" and "Sloth the Lazy Dragon." 

***
Tags:
Opposites, friends, multicultural, fussing, fighting, playing, running, learning, growing, kids, childrens, rhyming, San Francisco, Washington, D.C.