Wednesday, November 2, 2016

A 5- Star Review of 
In and Out, All 'Round About - Opposite Friends

10/30/2016
Rating: 
5 Stars!

Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers’ Favorite

"In and Out, All 'Round About: Opposite Friends" is a children's picture book for grades K-3 written by Penelope Anne Cole and illustrated by Agy Wilson. They may not always agree and often seem to be going in totally different directions, but the girl and boy in this tale are the best of friends. These opposite friends are seen as they grow up together, from the early days of playing on jungle gyms and climbing trees, to running and playing on the city streets where they live. They seem to work in an easy and instinctively cooperative fashion, even when they disagree or have the inevitable arguments. One set of panels has them disconsolate over losing a soccer game and jubilant over a victory. Another has them camping out under a starry sky, and while one is reading and the other gazing at the stars, their contentment with each other's company shines brightly.

Penelope Anne Cole's picture book for children, grades K-3, "In and Out, All 'Round About: Opposite Friends," celebrates friendship and the joy it brings to those lucky enough to have a best friend. This story is a perfect primer for new readers. Cole chooses her word pairs carefully and doles them out sparingly, making sure each set makes the biggest impact on the reader. Her story is filled with movement and the easy give and take that characterizes a good friendship. We see her friends running down city streets, playing sports and board games, even dressing up as grownups, and you can tell they will stay friends for life, in spite of distance, difference or other barriers. Agy Wilson's illustrations fit the story line perfectly and add to the feeling of motion Cole’s words evoke throughout the text. Each panel is rich in detail, and anyone who's ever spent any time in San Francisco will no doubt delight in recognizing some familiar landmarks, city streets and intersections. "In and Out, All 'Round About: Opposite Friends" is most highly recommended.

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Here's a Great 5-Star Review on Amazon
on October 11, 2016
Penelope Anne Cole’s "Ten Little Tricksters" is an adorable rhyming and counting Halloween-themed picture book! Excellent use of rhythm and rhymes that match up uniquely with each group of little tricksters, from ten little ghosties to one little pumpkin. The illustrations by Kevin Collier are a bewitching seasonal treat—including “creaky” skeletons and “screechy” bats. Children will love counting down to Halloween with this delightful tale and parents will not be able to resist reading its catchy verses aloud!
 
*******
Tags:
Ten Little Tricksters, out trick or treating, on Halloween, by Penelope Anne Cole, spooky creatures, count down to ten, reverse counting, pumpkin, black cats, witches, skeletons, zombis, black bats, ogres, monsters, goblins, and ghosts.   

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

ANOTHER 5 - STAR REVIEW FOR
MAGICAL MAX AND MAGICAL MICKEY'S BIG SURPRISE
on September 19, 2016
Format: Paperback

I'm sorry this is probably the last book in the series. It's a good one. I won't give away the plot, but I LOVE the surprise the boys make for their friend's graduation gift.
*****  
I responded to Ms. Collins that I would continue the series if I get another good book idea!  Penelope Anne Cole
 
*******
Tags
children's books, Magical Max and Magical Mickey's Big Surprise, Max, Mickey, Mea, Matthew, Lily, Grandma Nonie, Mom, Dad, magic, helping, fixing, surprises, graduation, family, siblings, friends, friendship, caring, sharing.

Monday, August 29, 2016

AMAZON REVIEW - 5 STARS



on August 29, 2016
What a wonderful book by Penelope Anne Cole for teaching children to get along in spite of our differences. The two children in the book are different in gender, race, likes, looks, and feelings, but none of that matters. They put their differences aside and enjoy playing together. This is a great book for Kindergarten through early elementary school children. Teachers may want to read it to their classes during discussions of diversity. It’s also a great book for teaching opposites. The wonderful illustrations by Agy Wilson are colorful and beautifully enhance the book’s theme. I plan to read and discuss it with my 5 year old grandson before he heads off to Kindergarten next week. We need more books to encourage people to get along. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
 
*****
 
Deb Gardner Allard is the author of 
"Baby Poopsie Loves Ears." 
 
 www.debgardnerallard.com 
 

****
Tags:
Opposites, friends, multicultural, fussing, fighting, playing, running, learning, growing, kids, childrens, rhyming, San Francisco, Washington, D.C.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

FIVE STAR REVIEW ON AMAZON

on August 3, 2016
Penelope Anne Cole’s "In and Out, All ‘Round About – Opposite Friends" is a book with a beautiful message in rhythmic verse. It’s about a friendship between a boy and a girl of different races who share the various ups and downs of young life. Even when they end up moving away from each other, their friendship endures.

Opposites in general, and how they fit into the lives of these two kids, are featured in verse and repetitive patterns.

Agy Wilson’s illustrations are beautifully executed—they bring the moments these two friends share fully to life.

"In and Out, All ‘Round About – Opposite Friends" is an excellent choice for schools, libraries and homes.

Please note: I reviewed a free copy of the book in exchange for my honest opinion/review.
 
***
Regan Macaulay is the author of 
"Beverlee Beaz the Brown Burmese" and "Sloth the Lazy Dragon." 

***
Tags:
Opposites, friends, multicultural, fussing, fighting, playing, running, learning, growing, kids, childrens, rhyming, San Francisco, Washington, D.C.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

 A LOVELY NEW 5-STAR REVIEW 
 
WHAT'S FOR DINNER?
 
on July 12, 2016

What’s for Dinner by Penelope Anne Cole presents children with an education on a wide variety of diets, and a wide variety of cultures—all in a fun story about children that students can relate to directly. Katy’s been invited to dinner at a Nigerian friend’s house, and she’s worried they may serve something strange that she will not like. Katy decides she will try what is served, after discovering a new delicious dish in her own home! She is pleasantly surprised with what is served at her friend Amaeka’s home!

Not only does this story present a variety of different dishes from various countries around the world, children also learn a little something about different cultures, too. Katy’s friends are diverse, inclusive, and as a group, they are very aware of different cultures. I particularly enjoyed the game Katy and her friends play taking turns identifying countries by what people there eat, and other fun facts (like “Where do the women wear komonos and they eat raw fish with rice and seaweed?” “Japan,” said Katy).

The colourful and detailed illustrations by Samantha S. Bell make the food look tempting and the children engaging! Teachers and their students will love this celebration of diversity—in food and characters!


Tags: 
Dinner, food, cooking, sharing, friends, family, diversity, multi-cultural, Nigeria