Tuesday, September 20, 2016

ANOTHER 5 - STAR REVIEW FOR
MAGICAL MAX AND MAGICAL MICKEY'S BIG SURPRISE
on September 19, 2016
Format: Paperback

I'm sorry this is probably the last book in the series. It's a good one. I won't give away the plot, but I LOVE the surprise the boys make for their friend's graduation gift.
*****  
I responded to Ms. Collins that I would continue the series if I get another good book idea!  Penelope Anne Cole
 
*******
Tags
children's books, Magical Max and Magical Mickey's Big Surprise, Max, Mickey, Mea, Matthew, Lily, Grandma Nonie, Mom, Dad, magic, helping, fixing, surprises, graduation, family, siblings, friends, friendship, caring, sharing.

Monday, August 29, 2016

AMAZON REVIEW - 5 STARS



on August 29, 2016
What a wonderful book by Penelope Anne Cole for teaching children to get along in spite of our differences. The two children in the book are different in gender, race, likes, looks, and feelings, but none of that matters. They put their differences aside and enjoy playing together. This is a great book for Kindergarten through early elementary school children. Teachers may want to read it to their classes during discussions of diversity. It’s also a great book for teaching opposites. The wonderful illustrations by Agy Wilson are colorful and beautifully enhance the book’s theme. I plan to read and discuss it with my 5 year old grandson before he heads off to Kindergarten next week. We need more books to encourage people to get along. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
 
*****
 
Deb Gardner Allard is the author of 
"Baby Poopsie Loves Ears." 
 
 www.debgardnerallard.com 
 

****
Tags:
Opposites, friends, multicultural, fussing, fighting, playing, running, learning, growing, kids, childrens, rhyming, San Francisco, Washington, D.C.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

FIVE STAR REVIEW ON AMAZON

on August 3, 2016
Penelope Anne Cole’s "In and Out, All ‘Round About – Opposite Friends" is a book with a beautiful message in rhythmic verse. It’s about a friendship between a boy and a girl of different races who share the various ups and downs of young life. Even when they end up moving away from each other, their friendship endures.

Opposites in general, and how they fit into the lives of these two kids, are featured in verse and repetitive patterns.

Agy Wilson’s illustrations are beautifully executed—they bring the moments these two friends share fully to life.

"In and Out, All ‘Round About – Opposite Friends" is an excellent choice for schools, libraries and homes.

Please note: I reviewed a free copy of the book in exchange for my honest opinion/review.
 
***
Regan Macaulay is the author of 
"Beverlee Beaz the Brown Burmese" and "Sloth the Lazy Dragon." 

***
Tags:
Opposites, friends, multicultural, fussing, fighting, playing, running, learning, growing, kids, childrens, rhyming, San Francisco, Washington, D.C.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

 A LOVELY NEW 5-STAR REVIEW 
 
WHAT'S FOR DINNER?
 
on July 12, 2016

What’s for Dinner by Penelope Anne Cole presents children with an education on a wide variety of diets, and a wide variety of cultures—all in a fun story about children that students can relate to directly. Katy’s been invited to dinner at a Nigerian friend’s house, and she’s worried they may serve something strange that she will not like. Katy decides she will try what is served, after discovering a new delicious dish in her own home! She is pleasantly surprised with what is served at her friend Amaeka’s home!

Not only does this story present a variety of different dishes from various countries around the world, children also learn a little something about different cultures, too. Katy’s friends are diverse, inclusive, and as a group, they are very aware of different cultures. I particularly enjoyed the game Katy and her friends play taking turns identifying countries by what people there eat, and other fun facts (like “Where do the women wear komonos and they eat raw fish with rice and seaweed?” “Japan,” said Katy).

The colourful and detailed illustrations by Samantha S. Bell make the food look tempting and the children engaging! Teachers and their students will love this celebration of diversity—in food and characters!


Tags: 
Dinner, food, cooking, sharing, friends, family, diversity, multi-cultural, Nigeria

Friday, April 29, 2016



 WHAT'S FOR DINNER? 

Receives Children's Literary Classics Seal of Approval
 

For Immediate Release
Children's Literary Classics
pr@clcawards.org


Children's Literary Classics is pleased to announce that the children's picture book What’s for Dinner? written by Penelope Anne Cole and illustrated by Samantha S. Bell, has been selected to receive the Children's Literary Classics Seal of Approval.  The CLC Seal of Approval is a designation reserved for those books which uphold the rigorous criteria set forth by the Children's Literary Classics review committee, a team comprised of individuals with backgrounds in publishing, editing, writing, illustration and graphic design.

When Katy's friend Ameaka, who is from Nigeria, invites her to dinner she begins to wonder about what might be served.   Katy is looking forward to the experience, but she's a little fearful she might not like it and she does not want to offend her hosts.  As she and her other friends contemplate the many different types of foods served around the world they come to realize that all cultures eat foods which may seem odd to people from other regions, even their own. 

Author Penelope Anne Cole's What's for Dinner? is a wonderful way to introduce young readers to various foods and cultures while promoting the idea of acceptance and trying new things.  This book is highly recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.  


Children’s Literary Classics, an organization dedicated to furthering excellence in children’s literature, takes great pride in its role to help promote classic children's literature which appeals to youth while educating and encouraging positive values in the impressionable young minds of future generations.   To learn more about Children's Literary Classics, you may visit their website at www.clcawards.org or www.childrensliteraryclassics.com

Monday, March 14, 2016

A SECOND 5 STAR REVIEW FOR
IN AND OUT, ALL 'ROUND ABOUT - OPPOSITE FRIENDS

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback I really enjoyed this the latest children’s picture book by Penelope Anne Cole. Written in short, rhythmical verse, the story illustrates and celebrates the very special friendship between a boy and a girl of different races. She’s white; he’s African American. They share together the ups and downs that happen in their lives, they learn together and grow to be better human beings. Eventually they must live in separate parts of the world—but not even distance can diminish their friendship.

In and Out, All ‘Round—Opposite Friends stimulates children’s minds because it invites reflection. It’s a good book that a parent or adult may read to the child and ask questions about the illustrations and the meaning of the words. The very nice illustrations well complement the story. A story that promotes love and friendship between children of different races, In and Out, All ‘Round—Opposite Friends comes recommended from this reviewer
 
Tags:  Friendship, sharing, caring, playing, rhyming, family, friends, opposites